Social Media

Have a question about a tool or technique? Have a tutorial or a skill to share? Post here!

Social Media

Postby Neb » Mon Jan 13, 2014 1:34 pm

Hey gang! I've been working on building an online presence for about 2 years now. (My goal is 1000 "likes" on FB!) I'm about a third of the way there, and I'm hoping to hit 1000 by the end of this year. I just don't feel like I'm really 'doing this right', and that I should be further along than I am. There are people that I really look up to, for their handling of social media, and the way that they accumulate fans/followers/etc.

The reason for this 'lofty' goal of 1000 likes, goes back to articles I've read about 1000 'true' fans, and while 1000 'likes' on facebook doesn't quite translate to 'true fans'... I figure at that point, my stuff 'should be' seen by enough people that a decent percentage of them 'should' be able to help me make any project I'm working on commercially viable. Some of that has played out already, some hasn't. But for every successfully Kickstarter campaign that I've seen, it seems to be that the ones who's creator has approx. 1000 or more 'likes' or 'friends' or whatever you want to call it, turns into a successfully funded project. And oft time they exceed their goals.

To achieve this goal, I've been doing more and more 'commercial' work... prints of recognizable (not my own) characters, as those are easier for people to get behind, and purchase, and ultimately build my audience. Yes... I admit that this is 'selling out'. And I know that not everyone is really interested or supportive of that. It was a struggle for me to come to that decision, as I've always been ONLY interested in drawing my own stuff. But I had to accept, that for me, the ends justified the means. In order for my own projects to be successful, I needed those people behind me... supporting me, and ready to purchase MY own work, even if it wasn't a 'well known property'.